Halal Food Pass

Is it halal? Canada

Is St-Hubert halal in Canada?

Unclear, no public statement

St-Hubert has published no halal statement in either language. Its one recorded word is from October 2011, when the company told the National Post that halal and kosher chicken and meat were under consideration; nothing followed. Per the chain, its chicken is bred in Quebec, its ribs are pork, and each restaurant serves alcohol. No certifier lists a St-Hubert.

What the evidence supports

QuestionSupported findingScopeSource and date
What has St-Hubert said?Nothing on halal, in either language. The English FAQ (twelve headings, about 100 question titles) and the French FAQ, read in full on 1 October 2026, mention neither halal, hallal, casher, kosher, religious diets, pork, bacon, ham, supplier, gelatin, alcohol, wine nor beer. The FAQ says “There are now 124 rotisseries across Quebec, New Brunswick, and Ontario.” and that there are two menus for two rotisserie concepts, Traditional and Express.Canada, FAQ in both languagesSt-Hubert, English FAQ, retrieved 2026-10-01
Has the chain ever spoken on halal?Once, in 2011, and only to say it was considering it. The National Post of 24 October 2011, in Nicolas Van Praet's story “Growth plans for Quebec icon,” read in the Internet Archive's copy and shown in the picture below: “Both halal and kosher chicken and meat is under consideration for St-Hubert restaurants in and outside Quebec, the company said.” The next paragraph quotes Daniel Cousineau: “It's not just about bringing in the younger generation. [It's about] what else can we do to attract the multi-ethnic customers?” No halal programme was announced afterwards, and nothing from the chain on halal has been found since, in either language, on its site, in press releases or in news.Canada, company statement to a journalist, October 2011National Post, 24 October 2011 (Internet Archive copy), 2011-10-24, retrieved 2026-10-01
Where does the chicken come from?“All the chicken served in restaurant is bred in Quebec and selected with care.”; the chain “has served only air-chilled (rather than water-chilled) chicken” and is “committed to promoting the humane raising and harvesting of broiler chickens.” The chicken is spit-roasted for three hours. No supplier, certifier, standards body or slaughter method is named; harvesting is a welfare term, not a slaughter-method statement. The parent, Recipe Unlimited Corporation, which bought the chain in 2016, says on its animal-welfare page: “Although we are not directly involved in the farming, slaughtering or transporting of animals, through our suppliers, we aim to achieve the globally-recognized Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare,” and that it buys from about 1,300 chicken farmers across Canada; the page uses neither halal nor kosher.Canada, sourcing and welfare pages; parent companySt-Hubert, health, quality and nutrition; Recipe Unlimited, animal welfare, retrieved 2026-10-01
Does St-Hubert serve pork and alcohol?Yes to both, per the chain. “Our pork ribs are larger, tender and meatier than ever!”; “Marinated for more than 12 hours, our tender 100% Quebec ribs are generously brushed with the sauce of your choice”, classic St-Hubert rib sauce or Whiskey BBQ. The nutrition tables list Ribs half rack, Ribs Poutine, Crispy ribs, Eggs Benedict bacon and swiss cheese and the club sandwich. The Our Alcohols page says “Each restaurant has its own custom wine menu with bottles from the Cellier Must-Try Selection”, with beers from Quebec microbreweries and signature cocktails; whether Express-concept rotisseries serve alcohol is not addressed, and the alcohol content of the whisky BBQ rib sauce is not stated.Canada, menu and barSt-Hubert, Our Ribs and Our Alcohols, retrieved 2026-10-01
Is kitchen equipment shared?Per the chain's nutrition and allergen tables in both languages: “Our kitchen operations are such that certain foods may share cooking or preparation surfaces. Equipment (fryers, grill, etc.) and utensils may also be shared when being used.” and “traces may still be present due to contamination at the supplier.” The tables name no halal, kosher, gelatin, alcohol, rennet, enzyme or lard, carry no date and link no PDF.Canada, nutrition documentsSt-Hubert, nutrition and allergen table, retrieved 2026-10-01
Is any St-Hubert certified or listed as halal?No. The Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurants directory (34 entries), read rendered on 1 October 2026, list no St-Hubert; HMA's Halal Check product list and IFANCA's register (not a Canadian restaurant certifier) list none either, and no Quebec certifier register was located. Zabihah's search for the chain returns “No halal restaurants with 'St-Hubert' near you,” HalalRun and The Halal Food have no entry, and TripAdvisor's page for the rotisserie at 1019 Rue Sainte-Catherine Est, Montreal, shows a full bar, no special-diet attribute and no review mentioning halal. Two small directories carry an unread listing each (a Saint-Hyacinthe rotisserie; an app entry with no city), recorded here as claims.Canada, certifier registers and directoriesHMA and ISNA Halal registers; Zabihah, HalalRun, The Halal Food, retrieved 2026-10-01
How many rotisseries, and what do their delivery menus show?124, per the FAQ, across Quebec, New Brunswick and Ontario; the French FAQ gives the same figure, and no page we read carries a halal note for any rotisserie. The delivery menus of Montreal rotisseries read on 1 October 2026 list pork beside the chicken with no halal word: Uber Eats for St-Hubert Verdun, 4120 Boulevard Lasalle, lists “Demi-côtes levées de porc / Half Rack of Pork Ribs”; SkipTheDishes for 7979 Blvd. Newman, LaSalle, lists half and full racks of pork ribs and club items with bacon; DoorDash's St-Hubert business page, covering several rotisseries, lists the pork ribs, rib poutine and bacon items. An absent tag is the platform's copy of the menu, not a statement by the chain.Quebec, New Brunswick and Ontario; delivery platform copySt-Hubert, FAQ; Uber Eats, SkipTheDishes, DoorDash, retrieved 2026-10-01

Documents we read

Two paragraphs of a 2011 National Post story: halal and kosher chicken and meat are under consideration for St-Hubert restaurants, the company said, and Mr. Cousineau asks what else the chain can do to attract multi-ethnic customers.
National Post, 24 October 2011, “Growth plans for Quebec icon” by Nicolas Van Praet, as archived by the Internet Archive on 22 March 2016 from canada.com and rendered by Halal Food Pass on 1 October 2026. The chain's only recorded word on halal; no programme followed.

What this means before you order

Nobody has said, and the one time the company spoke it said only that it was thinking about it. On 24 October 2011 the National Post reported, in a story on the chain's growth plans: “Both halal and kosher chicken and meat is under consideration for St-Hubert restaurants in and outside Quebec, the company said,” with the St-Hubert executive the story quotes, Daniel Cousineau, on attracting “the multi-ethnic customers.”

Fifteen years on, nothing has followed: St-Hubert's website, read in both languages on 1 October 2026, contains no halal statement, not in its English FAQ under twelve headings, not in its French FAQ, not in its English or French nutrition and allergen tables, not on its chicken, ribs or alcohol specialities pages, not on its sourcing or food-intolerance pages, and not in its sitemap of 1,047 pages.

The words halal, hallal, casher, kosher and religieux appear nowhere. What the chain does say about its chicken is origin and welfare: “All the chicken served in restaurant is bred in Quebec and selected with care”, air-chilled, spit-roasted for three hours; it names no supplier, certifier or slaughter method, and its parent, Recipe Unlimited, says it is “not directly involved in the farming, slaughtering or transporting of animals.”

No Canadian certifier register names a St-Hubert, and no halal directory lists one.

What the chain's own pages do say matters for a halal diet. The ribs page says “Our pork ribs are larger, tender and meatier than ever!” and that they are 100% Quebec; the nutrition tables list half and full racks, Crispy ribs, Ribs Poutine, Eggs Benedict with bacon and a club sandwich beside the rotisserie chicken, Angus beef steak and the St-Burger, and the delivery menus of its Montreal rotisseries on Uber Eats, SkipTheDishes and DoorDash list “Demi-côtes levées de porc” beside the chicken with no halal word.

The Our Alcohols page says each restaurant has its own wine menu, Quebec craft beers and signature cocktails, and one rib sauce is a whisky BBQ sauce whose alcohol content is not stated. Both nutrition tables say “Equipment (fryers, grill, etc.) and utensils may also be shared when being used.” The FAQ puts the chain at 124 rotisseries across Quebec, New Brunswick and Ontario.

The registers of HMA and ISNA Halal, read rendered on 1 October 2026, name no St-Hubert, and Zabihah, HalalRun and The Halal Food have no entry for the chain.

Suppliers and preparation can change. Confirm the current halal information with the specific restaurant before ordering.

What official sources establish

St-Hubert has said nothing about halal that we could find, in either language. On 1 October 2026 we read st-hubert.com as a customer sees it: the English FAQ, whose twelve headings run from General Information and Menu and Products to Nutrition and Allergens and Safety, and the French FAQ; the English and French nutrition and allergen tables; the specialities pages for chicken, ribs and alcohol; the health, quality and nutrition page and the intolerances and food allergies page; two supplier profiles; the contact page, which names Les Rôtisseries St-Hubert Ltée of Boisbriand, Quebec; and the pages sitemap of 1,047 URLs, 523 English and 524 French.

The words halal, hallal, casher, kosher and religieux do not appear on any of them, and no URL contains halal.

The chain has spoken on halal once that we can find, and it was fifteen years ago. On 24 October 2011 the National Post published Nicolas Van Praet's story “Growth plans for Quebec icon,” about St-Hubert's expansion beyond its French-Canadian base. One paragraph, read in the Internet Archive's copy of the canada.com printing and shown in the picture above, reads: “There's a new focus on smaller snack-sized portions to appeal to younger customers.

And there is serious thinking about what the chain can do to reach beyond its traditional French-Canadian base. Both halal and kosher chicken and meat is under consideration for St-Hubert restaurants in and outside Quebec, the company said.” The next paragraph quotes Daniel Cousineau, the executive interviewed for the story: “It's not just about bringing in the younger generation. [It's about] what else can we do to attract the multi-ethnic customers?”

That is a statement of consideration relayed by a journalist, not an announcement, and no halal programme followed: nothing from the chain on halal, in English or French, has been found since, on its site, in press releases or in news, and the chain has since changed hands.

What the chain does say about its chicken is origin and welfare, not slaughter or certification. The FAQ describes “local chicken in all its rotisseries, at all times”, slowly spit-roasted for three hours; the health, quality and nutrition page says “All the chicken served in restaurant is bred in Quebec and selected with care.”, that the chain “has served only air-chilled (rather than water-chilled) chicken”, and that Les Rôtisseries St-Hubert “is committed to the humane treatment of animals, and to working with Canadian farmers” and to “promoting the humane raising and harvesting of broiler chickens.”

No standards body is named, harvesting is a welfare term rather than a slaughter-method statement, and the only suppliers profiled on the site are a piri-piri sauce maker in Nicolet and a cabbage grower in Saint-Lin-Laurentides; no chicken or pork supplier is named anywhere we read. The page also notes the chain's link to Recipe Unlimited Corporation brands and that it has not used nuts or peanuts in its dishes since 2004.

Recipe Unlimited, the Toronto-area company that bought St-Hubert in 2016 (as Cara Operations) and lists it among its brands, says on its animal-welfare page: “Although we are not directly involved in the farming, slaughtering or transporting of animals, through our suppliers, we aim to achieve the globally-recognized Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare,” that it buys from about 1,300 chicken farmers across Canada, and that it works with the National Farm Animal Care Council and Chicken Farmers of Canada; the page names no slaughter method or certifier and uses neither halal nor kosher.

The nutrition and allergen tables, in both languages, carry the chain's preparation disclaimers: “Nutritional and allergen information is provided according to designated ingredients and standardized recipes.”; “Our kitchen operations are such that certain foods may share cooking or preparation surfaces. Equipment (fryers, grill, etc.) and utensils may also be shared when being used.”; and “traces may still be present due to contamination at the supplier.”

They list nutrients per item, name no halal, kosher, gelatin, alcohol, rennet, enzyme or lard, carry no date and link no PDF. The site says it shows “the nutritional values and list of ingredients of each item on its menu”, but the per-item ingredient lists were not surfaced by the tables we read.

No certifier register names a St-Hubert. The Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurants directory (34 entries), both read rendered on 1 October 2026, list none; HMA's Halal Check product list, which says it does not cover restaurants, and IFANCA's register (not a Canadian restaurant certifier) list none either, and no Quebec certifier register was located. The 2012 Quebec reporting on undisclosed halal slaughter at provincial poultry processors, read in a HuffPost Québec copy, names Olymel, Maple Lodge, Avicomax and Viandes Métropolitain and does not mention St-Hubert; CBC Marketplace's October 2024 report does not mention it either.

Locations and products

St-Hubert's FAQ says “There are now 124 rotisseries across Quebec, New Brunswick, and Ontario.”, and the French FAQ gives the same figure; this page carries the chain's own figure rather than a count, and no page we read carries a halal note for any rotisserie. The FAQ also says there are two menus for two rotisserie concepts, Traditional and Express.

The delivery menus of Montreal rotisseries, read on 1 October 2026, show the same menu the chain describes: Uber Eats for St-Hubert Verdun (4120 Boulevard Lasalle) lists “Demi-côtes levées de porc / Half Rack of Pork Ribs” beside the rotisserie chicken, SkipTheDishes for 7979 Blvd. Newman in LaSalle lists half and full racks of pork ribs and club items with bacon, and DoorDash's St-Hubert business page lists the pork ribs, rib poutine and bacon items; none uses the word halal.

Pork and alcohol are on the menu by the chain's own words. “Our pork ribs are larger, tender and meatier than ever!”; “Marinated for more than 12 hours, our tender 100% Quebec ribs are generously brushed with the sauce of your choice”, with the classic rib sauce or Whiskey BBQ. The nutrition tables list Ribs half rack in original and whisky BBQ sauce, Ribs Poutine, Crispy ribs, Eggs Benedict bacon and swiss cheese and the club sandwich, beside rotisserie chicken, chicken poutine, Angus beef steak and the Original St-Burger.

The Our Alcohols page says each restaurant has its own wine menu from the Cellier Must-Try Selection, beers from Quebec microbreweries and signature cocktails; whether Express rotisseries serve alcohol is not addressed. The French ribs page describes côtes levées du Québec without the word porc.

No halal directory lists the chain. Zabihah's search for St-Hubert returns “No halal restaurants with 'St-Hubert' near you,” HalalRun's search returns no St-Hubert, and The Halal Food returns no listing; TripAdvisor's page for the rotisserie at 1019 Rue Sainte-Catherine Est, Montreal, shows a full bar, no special-diet attribute and no review mentioning halal. Two small directories carry a listing each that we did not open, one for a Saint-Hyacinthe rotisserie and one for a Rotisserie St-Hubert with no city; those are claims, not findings.

If a rotisserie near you advertises halal, that is the restaurant's claim, not the chain's, and this page does not track it. Ask for the certificate and the supplier it names, and check the date.

Certification, ingredients and preparation

An unclear status does not mean the food is not halal. It records that St-Hubert has made no statement in either language since saying in 2011 that halal was under consideration, and that no certifier lists it, after a full read of its public pages, its parent's pages and its delivery menus.

Origin and welfare statements are not slaughter statements. Bred in Quebec, air-chilled and humane raising and harvesting describe where the birds are raised, how the carcasses are cooled and how the chain says the birds are treated; none says how they are slaughtered, by whom, or under which certifier, and none is a halal claim. Recipe Unlimited's page says the group is not itself involved in slaughtering, which places the question with its unnamed suppliers.

The 2012 Quebec reporting on undisclosed halal slaughter at provincial processors does not name St-Hubert, and the chain names no processor, so nothing read connects the two in either direction. Nor is a 2011 statement of consideration a statement of fact: what the company said it was thinking about fifteen years ago says nothing about what its rotisseries serve today.

Preparation matters as much as ingredients. Pork ribs and bacon are on the same menu as the chicken, and the chain's own disclaimer says certain foods may share cooking or preparation surfaces and that fryers, grills and utensils may be shared; no St-Hubert document describes any separation of pork from chicken. Alcohol is served in restaurants with their own wine, beer and cocktail menus, and the whisky BBQ sauce is a rib cooking sauce whose alcohol content the chain does not state.

Removing the pork does not answer the question. A rotisserie chicken order still raises the slaughter question the chain has not addressed, the shared-equipment question its own disclaimer raises, and the question of animal-derived additives, since the per-item ingredient lists the site says it shows were not surfaced on the pages we read. Those are questions for the restaurant and for the standard of the certifier you trust.

What St-Hubert has not said, and what to check before ordering

Not said by Les Rôtisseries St-Hubert Ltée as of 1 October 2026: whether any chicken served in its rotisseries is halal-slaughtered or halal-certified, and which processor supplies it; whether the humane raising and harvesting standard it follows specifies a stunning or slaughter method; whether rotisserie chicken and pork ribs are cooked on separate equipment; whether Express rotisseries serve alcohol and whether the whisky BBQ sauce is made with whisky; and where the per-item ingredient lists are and whether they name animal-derived additives.

Before ordering, ask the rotisserie whether its chicken is halal and which processor and certifier, if any, stand behind it; ask to see the certificate and check its date. Remember that pork ribs and bacon are on the same menu, that fryers, grills and utensils may be shared, and that alcohol is served. The chain's customer-service numbers are on its intolerances page and its contact page.

St-Hubert halal FAQs

Is St-Hubert halal in Canada?

St-Hubert has not said, in English or French. Its one recorded word is from October 2011, when the company told the National Post that halal and kosher chicken and meat were under consideration for its restaurants; no programme followed. On 1 October 2026 we read its FAQs in both languages, its nutrition and allergen tables, its chicken, ribs and alcohol pages, its sourcing and allergy pages and its sitemap of 1,047 pages, and the words halal and casher appear nowhere. No certifier register or halal directory lists a St-Hubert. This is an absence of any statement, not a statement that the food is not halal.

Has St-Hubert ever said anything about halal?

Once, in 2011, and only that it was considering it. The National Post reported on 24 October 2011, in a story on the chain's growth plans, that "Both halal and kosher chicken and meat is under consideration for St-Hubert restaurants in and outside Quebec, the company said," and quoted Daniel Cousineau on attracting "the multi-ethnic customers." That was a statement of consideration relayed by a journalist. Nothing on halal has come from the chain since, in either language, and its current pages do not use the word.

Is St-Hubert's chicken halal? What do "bred in Quebec" and "air-chilled" mean?

The chain has not said. Its page says "All the chicken served in restaurant is bred in Quebec and selected with care", that it has served only air-chilled rather than water-chilled chicken, and that it is committed to the humane raising and harvesting of broiler chickens. Those are origin, cooling and welfare statements; none says how the birds are slaughtered, by whom, or under which certifier. No processor is named, and the parent company, Recipe Unlimited, says it is not directly involved in slaughtering. Ask the rotisserie which processor and certificate, if any, stand behind its chicken.

Does St-Hubert serve pork?

Yes, per the chain. Its ribs page says "Our pork ribs are larger, tender and meatier than ever!" and describes 100% Quebec ribs brushed with the classic rib sauce or Whiskey BBQ; the nutrition tables, read on 1 October 2026, list half and full racks, Crispy ribs, Ribs Poutine, Eggs Benedict with bacon and a club sandwich beside the rotisserie chicken. The French ribs page describes Quebec ribs without using the word porc.

Does St-Hubert serve alcohol?

Yes, per the chain. Its Our Alcohols page, read on 1 October 2026, says each restaurant has its own wine menu from the Cellier Must-Try Selection, beers from Quebec microbreweries and signature cocktails inspired by the classics. The page does not say whether Express rotisseries serve alcohol, and the whisky BBQ rib sauce is a cooking sauce whose alcohol content the chain does not state.

Is St-Hubert's kitchen equipment shared between chicken and pork?

The chain does not say either way about pork and chicken specifically. Its nutrition and allergen tables, in both languages, say "Our kitchen operations are such that certain foods may share cooking or preparation surfaces. Equipment (fryers, grill, etc.) and utensils may also be shared when being used." No St-Hubert document describes separating pork ribs or bacon from the chicken. Ask the rotisserie how its ribs and chicken are cooked and plated.

When was this page last checked?

On 1 October 2026 we read st-hubert.com in English and French: both FAQs, both nutrition tables, the chicken, ribs and alcohol pages, the sourcing and allergy pages, two supplier profiles, the contact page and the sitemap; the National Post story of 24 October 2011 in the Internet Archive's copy; Recipe Unlimited's brands and animal-welfare pages; the Uber Eats, SkipTheDishes and DoorDash menus of Montreal rotisseries; TripAdvisor's Montreal page; the Zabihah, HalalRun and The Halal Food searches; and the HMA, ISNA Halal and IFANCA registers. Next review is due on 31 October 2026, or sooner if St-Hubert publishes anything.

Sources and what they cover

These are the statements behind this page. The scope beside each source distinguishes Canadian information, a single location and material from another country.

St-Hubert, English FAQ

Canada

“There are now 124 rotisseries across Quebec, New Brunswick, and Ontario.”

Twelve headings and about 100 question titles, read in full on 1 October 2026. No question or answer mentions halal, kosher, religious diets, pork, bacon, ham, supplier, gelatin, alcohol, wine, beer, vegetarian or vegan. It describes local chicken in all rotisseries at all times, spit-roasted for three hours, two menus for the Traditional and Express concepts, and allergen precautions.

st-hubert.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

St-Hubert, French FAQ

Canada

“On compte désormais 124 restaurants, répartis au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Ontario.”

Read in full on 1 October 2026. No halal, hallal, casher, kascher, religieu, porc, bacon, jambon, gélatine or alcool wording; it describes chicken of local provenance at all times in all rotisseries.

st-hubert.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

St-Hubert, nutrition and allergen table

Canada

“Our kitchen operations are such that certain foods may share cooking or preparation surfaces. Equipment (fryers, grill, etc.) and utensils may also be shared when being used.”

The English table, read in full on 1 October 2026, with the French table read the same day carrying the same disclaimers. Nutrients per item for the rotisserie chicken, ribs, poutines, sandwiches, Angus beef steak and burgers; no halal, kosher, gelatin, alcohol, rennet, enzyme or lard wording; no date; no PDF.

st-hubert.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

St-Hubert, Our Ribs

Canada

“Our pork ribs are larger, tender and meatier than ever!”

The ribs specialities page, read on 1 October 2026: 100% Quebec ribs marinated for more than 12 hours, brushed with the classic St-Hubert rib sauce or Whiskey BBQ. The alcohol content of the whisky sauce is not stated. The French page describes Quebec ribs without the word porc.

st-hubert.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

St-Hubert, health, quality and nutrition

Canada

“All the chicken served in restaurant is bred in Quebec and selected with care.”

The social-commitment page, read in English and French on 1 October 2026. Air-chilled chicken, a commitment to the humane treatment of animals and to the humane raising and harvesting of broiler chickens, cage-free eggs across Recipe Unlimited Corporation brands, no nuts or peanuts since 2004. No halal, kosher, religious, pork or slaughter wording; no standards body named; the linked animal-welfare PDF was not opened.

st-hubert.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

St-Hubert, Our Alcohols

Canada

“Each restaurant has its own custom wine menu with bottles from the Cellier Must-Try Selection”

The alcohol specialities page, read on 1 October 2026: wine per restaurant, beers from Quebec microbreweries, signature cocktails. The Express concept is not addressed.

st-hubert.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA) Canada

Canada

HMA's certified-restaurant register, 82 entries, read rendered on 1 October 2026, names no St-Hubert. ISNA Halal's restaurants directory (34 entries) was read the same day with the same result; HMA's Halal Check product list and IFANCA's register (not Canadian) list none. No Quebec certifier register was located.

hmacanada.org ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

National Post, 24 October 2011, “Growth plans for Quebec icon” (Internet Archive copy)

Canada, company statement to a journalist, 2011

“Both halal and kosher chicken and meat is under consideration for St-Hubert restaurants in and outside Quebec, the company said.”

Nicolas Van Praet's story, read on 1 October 2026 in the Internet Archive's capture of 22 March 2016 of the canada.com printing (the original address no longer serves it). The following paragraph quotes Daniel Cousineau: “It's not just about bringing in the younger generation. [It's about] what else can we do to attract the multi-ethnic customers?” A statement of consideration, relayed by a journalist; no programme followed.

web.archive.org ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Recipe Unlimited Corporation, Animal Welfare

Canada

“Although we are not directly involved in the farming, slaughtering or transporting of animals, through our suppliers, we aim to achieve the globally-recognized Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare”

The parent company's group-level page, read on 1 October 2026: about 1,300 chicken farmers across Canada, work with the National Farm Animal Care Council and Chicken Farmers of Canada; no halal, kosher, slaughter-method or certifier wording, and St-Hubert is not named on it. Recipe Unlimited's Our Brands page, read the same day, lists St-Hubert with over 120 restaurants in Quebec, Eastern Ontario and New Brunswick.

recipeunlimited.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Uber Eats, St-Hubert (Verdun), 4120 Boulevard Lasalle, Montreal

Canada, delivery platform copy

“Demi-côtes levées de porc / Half Rack of Pork Ribs”

The Verdun rotisserie's listing, read on 1 October 2026, with no halal word; the SkipTheDishes listing for 7979 Blvd. Newman, LaSalle, and DoorDash's St-Hubert business page, read the same day, list the pork ribs, rib poutine and bacon items with the same silence. The platforms' copy of the menu, not a statement by the chain.

ubereats.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Zabihah, site search for St-Hubert

Canada, directory listing

“No halal restaurants with 'St-Hubert' near you.”

The directory's result on 1 October 2026; HalalRun's and The Halal Food's searches the same day returned no St-Hubert either. A directory absence is not a certifier's finding, but it means no reader has listed a rotisserie there.

zabihah.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

How we checked St-Hubert

On 1 October 2026 we read St-Hubert's English FAQ (all twelve headings and question titles, with the answers on rotisserie count, chicken origin, menus and allergens) and its French FAQ; the English and French nutrition and allergen tables with their disclaimers; the specialities pages for chicken, ribs (English and French) and alcohols; the health, quality and nutrition page in both languages and the intolerances and food allergies page; two supplier profiles; the contact page; the sitemap index and the pages sitemap of 1,047 URLs.

We read the National Post story of 24 October 2011 in the Internet Archive's copy, English Wikipedia's St-Hubert article (which cites it) and a halal-trade site's undated retelling of the same report; Recipe Unlimited's Our Brands and Animal Welfare pages; the Uber Eats Verdun, SkipTheDishes LaSalle and DoorDash menus; TripAdvisor's and Wanderlog's pages for the Sainte-Catherine Est rotisserie; the Zabihah, HalalRun and The Halal Food searches; the Yahoo copy of CBC Marketplace's October 2024 report, which does not mention St-Hubert; a HuffPost Québec copy of the 2012 Quebec halal-slaughter coverage, which does not name the chain; and a French Wikipedia article on the Quebec halal market.

We read HMA's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurants directory (34 entries) rendered, HMA's Halal Check product list and IFANCA's register; St-Hubert appears on none, and no Quebec certifier register was located. The chain's locator and per-restaurant pages did not open for our tools, so the 124 figure is the chain's own; the animal-welfare PDF, the Saint-Hyacinthe and app directory listings and the chain's social accounts were not opened.

What we could not check: St-Hubert has published nothing on halal since the 2011 report, and that report is a journalist's relay of what the company said it was considering, read in an archived copy. The chain's chicken statements are about origin, cooling and welfare, not slaughter, and its parent names no processor. The 124-rotisserie figure is the chain's own, and no per-location check was possible from its site; the delivery menus read are three Montreal rotisseries. The animal-welfare PDF and the per-item ingredient lists were not read. We have not called any rotisserie and have seen no certificate.

Research and review: Researched by Halal Food Pass editorial on 7 September and 1 October 2026. Reviewed by Shaz Khan, publisher.

Change log:

  • : First published as unclear, no public statement: the English and French FAQs and the contact page read with no halal answer; HMA register read, no entry; the CHFCA list could not be fetched and was recorded as a failed read.
  • : Site read in full in both languages except the locator and restaurant pages, which returned undecodable data: pages sitemap enumerated (1,047 URLs); specialities pages read (pork ribs confirmed as pork and 100% Quebec; alcohol served per restaurant); social-commitment pages read (Quebec-bred, air-chilled chicken; welfare commitment; nut-free since 2004; Recipe Unlimited link); both nutrition tables read with their shared-equipment disclaimers; supplier profiles read (no meat supplier named); the chain's 124-rotisserie figure recorded; 2012 Quebec halal-slaughter coverage checked and found not to name the chain; HMA and ISNA Halal registers read rendered, CHFCA still could not be read. Label unchanged; claim table, sections and FAQs added. Review cadence set to 30 days.
  • : Rewritten around the one statement the chain has made: the National Post of 24 October 2011 (halal and kosher “under consideration”, Daniel Cousineau quoted), read in the Internet Archive's copy and shown as the page's picture; adds Recipe Unlimited as the parent (not Sobeys) with its animal-welfare wording, the Montreal delivery menus listing pork ribs with no halal word, and the directory absences (Zabihah, HalalRun, The Halal Food). Earlier access notes reduced to one sentence in the method note. Label unchanged; verdict word now “Considered in 2011, nothing since”.

Next review: . Report a correction.

How to read our halal labels

We report what a chain, a named certifier or a specific restaurant says, with the scope of that statement. Halal Food Pass does not certify halal.

A statement about chicken does not automatically cover the whole menu. A supplier certificate does not establish restaurant certification. A lack of published certification does not tell us how animals were slaughtered.

When a chain states publicly that its food is halal, we report that statement as the chain's own word, with its date, its scope and the certifier it names, and we treat it as standing until the chain withdraws it or evidence contradicts it. A claim that rests on unnamed phone calls or an anonymous post is reported as a claim, not as a finding.

Read our halal information policy or learn how to check a restaurant’s halal information.