Is it halal? Canada
Is Arby's halal in Canada?
Unclear, no public statement
Arby's Canada has published no halal statement. On 1 October 2026 we read its 21-question FAQ, its January 2024 nutrition and allergen guide, its menu index and two category pages; halal appears nowhere. The guide lists the bacon as pork, rennet in the Swiss cheese and white wine in a spread. No register we read lists an Arby's.
What the evidence supports
| Question | Supported finding | Scope | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| What has Arby's Canada said? | Nothing about halal. On 1 October 2026 we read the FAQ (21 questions), the nutrition and allergen landing page and guide, the menu category index, the Slow Roasted Beef and Savoury Selections category pages, the home, story and terms pages and the locator; neither halal nor kosher appears. The FAQ's meats line reads “Arby's primary menu consists of: Roast Beef, Brisket, Corned Beef, Chicken, Turkey, and Bacon.” | Canada, website | Arby's Canada, FAQ, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| What is the bacon? | Pork. The January 2024 nutrition and allergen guide lists Bacon as “Pork, water, salt, sugar, smoke flavor, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite, smoke.”, the only occurrence of pork in the document. Bacon appears in Three Cheese & Bacon, Chicken Bacon Swiss, Turkey Ranch & Bacon, Triple Cheese Turkey BLT and Roast Turkey Ranch and Bacon. No ham, sausage or pepperoni is listed. | Canada, national guide (January 2024) | Arby's Canada, nutrition and allergen guide, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| What are the beef and chicken? | Roast Beef “Beef, water, salt, sodium phosphate.”; Smoked Brisket beef brisket with salt, phosphates, pepper, paprika and garlic; Montreal Smoked Meat beef with seasonings and sodium nitrite; Crispy Chicken “Chicken breast, water, salt, sodium phosphate” with a coating. No supplier, certifier or slaughter wording. Corned beef and the gyro meat have no entry in the guide. | Canada, national guide (January 2024) | Arby's Canada, nutrition and allergen guide, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| Enzymes, alcohol and shared oil? | Swiss cheese contains “rennet and/or microbial enzyme” and the cheddar sauce “enzymes”; the Dijon Honey Mustard Sandwich Spread contains “white wine”; there is no beverage alcohol. A dagger marks items “cooked in the same oil as other items that contain major allergens.” The guide says variations may occur with suppliers, substitutions, recipe revisions and assembly at the restaurant. | Canada, national guide (January 2024) | Arby's Canada, nutrition and allergen guide, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| What is the gyro meat? | Not stated. The Savoury Selections page, read on 1 October 2026, describes the Greek Gyro as “Flame-seared, knife carved gyro meat, with crispy vegetables, creamy tzatziki sauce, and warm pita bread,” beside a Roast Beef Gyro and a Turkey Gyro. The January 2024 guide has no gyro entry, so the species and ingredients of the gyro meat are not published anywhere we read. | Canada, menu | Arby's Canada, Savoury Selections menu page, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| Does the locator mark any restaurant halal? | No. The locator is a map and search application whose filters are WiFi, Parking, Trivia Nights, Dine In, PickUp, Delivery, Drive Thru, Curbside Pick-up, Valet Parking and Smoking; there is no halal filter and no readable list, so no count. The chain's own figure is “57 stores in Canada” in a press release of 19 September 2023. | Canada, locator; chain figure (2023) | Arby's Canada, restaurant locator, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| Is any Arby's restaurant certified? | No. On 1 October 2026 the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurant directory (34 entries), read in a rendered browser, named no Arby's; HMA's supplier list of September 2017 does not name it. CHFCA's directory would not load. Absence from a register is not a finding about the food. | Canada, registers | HMA, ISNA Halal and CHFCA registers, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
What this means before you order
Nobody has said. Arby's Canadian website, read on 1 October 2026 more fully than before, contains no halal statement: not in its FAQ of 21 questions, not on its nutrition and allergen landing page, not in its nutrition and allergen guide effective January 2024, not on its menu category index or the two meat-heavy category pages we opened, and not on its story or terms pages.
The word kosher does not appear either. The FAQ's only sourcing sentence is “Arby's primary menu consists of: Roast Beef, Brisket, Corned Beef, Chicken, Turkey, and Bacon.” No supplier, certifier or slaughter method is named anywhere. The locator is a map with no readable list and no halal filter. No Canadian certifier register we could read lists an Arby's. This is an absence of any statement, not a statement that the food is not halal.
What the chain's own guide says matters for a halal diet. Its bacon is listed as “Pork, water, salt, sugar, smoke flavor, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite, smoke.”, the only occurrence of pork in the document, and bacon appears on five sandwiches. The roast beef is “Beef, water, salt, sodium phosphate”; the brisket and Montreal smoked meat are beef with seasonings; the crispy chicken is chicken breast with a coating.
The Swiss cheese contains “rennet and/or microbial enzyme,” the cheddar sauce “enzymes,” and the Dijon Honey Mustard spread “white wine.” A dagger marks items “cooked in the same oil as other items that contain major allergens.” The Greek Gyro's “gyro meat” has no entry in the guide and its species is not stated on the menu. If an Arby's near you advertises halal, that is a local claim; ask for the certificate and the supplier.
Suppliers and preparation can change. Confirm the current halal information with the specific restaurant before ordering.
What official sources establish
Arby's Canada has said nothing about halal that we could find. On 1 October 2026 we read arbys.ca more widely than at the earlier check: the FAQ, all 21 questions; the nutrition and allergen landing page and the guide it links, effective January 2024, seven pages with ingredient statements; the menu category index and the Slow Roasted Beef and Savoury Selections category pages; the home, story and terms pages; and the locator.
The words halal and kosher appear on none of them. The FAQ's only sentence about what the meat is reads “Arby's primary menu consists of: Roast Beef, Brisket, Corned Beef, Chicken, Turkey, and Bacon.” and it points readers to the nutrition page for details. No supplier, certifier or slaughter method is named anywhere on the site.
The guide is the chain's most useful document for a halal diet, and it is the chain's own: it names “Arby's of Canada, Inc., its franchisees and employees” and says “This information is effective as of January 2024.” Its bacon is “Pork, water, salt, sugar, smoke flavor, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite, smoke.”; its roast beef is “Beef, water, salt, sodium phosphate.”; the brisket and Montreal smoked meat are beef with seasonings; the crispy chicken is chicken breast with a coating.
The Swiss cheese contains “rennet and/or microbial enzyme,” the cheddar sauce “enzymes,” and the Dijon Honey Mustard Sandwich Spread “white wine.” A dagger marks items “cooked in the same oil as other items that contain major allergens,” and the guide warns that variations may occur due to differences in suppliers, ingredient substitutions, recipe revisions and product assembly at the restaurant.
The terms name Arby's Restaurant Group, Inc. of Atlanta, Georgia, under the laws of Ontario and the federal laws of Canada. A press release of 19 September 2023 put the chain at “57 stores in Canada”; QSR Magazine reported 65 in 2017. Neither carries sourcing or halal wording.
No certifier lists an Arby's. On 1 October 2026 the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register and ISNA Halal's restaurant directory named none, HMA's supplier list of September 2017 does not name it, and CHFCA's directory would not load. Absence from a register is not a finding about the food; it is the absence of one more place where a statement could have been.
Locations and products
We could not count the restaurants: the locator at arbys.ca is a map and search application with no readable list. Its filter vocabulary is WiFi, Parking, Trivia Nights, Dine In, PickUp, Delivery, Drive Thru, Curbside Pick-up, Valet Parking and Smoking; there is no halal filter. The chain's own figure is 57 stores in Canada, from September 2023.
The menu index lists twelve categories; we opened the two meat-heavy ones. Slow Roasted Beef has ten items, among them Three Cheese & Bacon, “Thinly sliced seasoned roast beef topped with bacon, parmesan peppercorn ranch, Swiss cheese, and shredded cheddar cheese, served on a toasted sub roll.” Savoury Selections has seven, including the Greek Gyro, “Flame-seared, knife carved gyro meat,” a Roast Beef Gyro, a Turkey Gyro, a Reuben of Montreal Smoked Meat, and turkey sandwiches with bacon. The gyro meat has no entry in the January 2024 guide and its species is not stated on the menu. Nothing on any page says any meat is halal.
If an Arby's near you advertises halal on its own sign or delivery listing, that is the franchisee's claim, not the chain's, and this page does not track it. Ask that restaurant for its current certificate and the supplier it names, and check the date. No such claim was found by search on 1 October 2026.
Certification, ingredients and preparation
An unclear status is not a finding that the food is not halal. It records that Arby's Canada has made no statement and that no certifier lists it. The chain's silence is now supported by a wide read of its own site rather than a narrow one, but silence is what it is.
Pork on the menu is a fact about the kitchen, not a verdict on the beef. The guide names pork in one place, the bacon, and bacon goes on five sandwiches prepared alongside everything else; no Arby's document describes any separation of ingredients or equipment. The roast beef, brisket, smoked meat and chicken are described by ingredients, not by slaughter method, and no supplier is named.
An ingredient statement is not a halal statement. “Rennet and/or microbial enzyme” in the Swiss cheese does not say whether the rennet is animal; “white wine” in the Dijon Honey Mustard spread does not say how much remains as served; the dagger footnote tells you that fried items share oil with allergen-containing items, not with what. Those are questions for the restaurant and for the standard of the certifier you trust.
A guide from January 2024 is not a description of today. It predates the gyro items and says itself that variations occur with suppliers, substitutions, recipe revisions and assembly at the restaurant.
What Arby's has not said, and what to check before ordering
Not said by Arby's Canada as of 1 October 2026: whether it has a written halal position for its Canadian restaurants; who supplies the roast beef, brisket, Montreal smoked meat and chicken and whether any supplier holds a halal certificate; what the gyro meat is and why it is absent from the guide; whether the rennet in the Swiss cheese is animal or microbial and whether the white wine is present in the Canadian spread; and whether a guide newer than January 2024 exists.
Before ordering, ask the restaurant directly whether its meats are halal and which supplier and certifier stand behind them; ask to see the certificate and check its date and the supplier named on it. Remember that the bacon is pork, that fried items share oil, and that the gyro meat has no published composition.
Arby's halal FAQs
Is Arby's halal in Canada?
Arby's Canada has not said. On 1 October 2026 we read its FAQ of 21 questions, its January 2024 nutrition and allergen guide, its menu index and two category pages, and its story, terms and locator pages; neither halal nor kosher appears anywhere. No certifier register we could read lists an Arby's. This is an absence of any statement, not a statement that the food is not halal.
Is Arby's roast beef halal in Canada?
No statement says so. The chain's January 2024 guide, read on 1 October 2026, lists the roast beef as "Beef, water, salt, sodium phosphate" and the brisket and Montreal smoked meat as beef with seasonings; it names no supplier, certifier or slaughter method, and nothing else on arbys.ca does either. An ingredient statement is not a halal statement. Ask the restaurant which supplier and certifier stand behind the beef.
Does Arby's Canada serve pork?
Yes, as bacon. The January 2024 nutrition and allergen guide lists Bacon as "Pork, water, salt, sugar, smoke flavor, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite, smoke," the only occurrence of pork in the document, and bacon appears on Three Cheese & Bacon, Chicken Bacon Swiss, Turkey Ranch & Bacon, Triple Cheese Turkey BLT and Roast Turkey Ranch and Bacon. No ham, sausage or pepperoni is listed. Read on 1 October 2026.
What is in Arby's gyro meat, cheese and sauces?
The gyro meat is not described: the Greek Gyro is "Flame-seared, knife carved gyro meat" on the menu page read on 1 October 2026, and the January 2024 guide has no gyro entry. The Swiss cheese contains "rennet and/or microbial enzyme," without saying whether the rennet is animal; the cheddar sauce contains "enzymes"; the Dijon Honey Mustard Sandwich Spread contains "white wine." Ask the restaurant about any of them.
Does Arby's use shared cooking oil?
Yes, per its own guide. The January 2024 nutrition and allergen guide, read on 1 October 2026, marks items with a dagger meaning "Menu item is cooked in the same oil as other items that contain major allergens." That is an allergen note; it does not say which items share a fryer with which, and no Arby's document describes any halal segregation. Ask the restaurant.
Has Arby's Canada named a halal supplier or certifier?
No. As of 1 October 2026 nothing on arbys.ca names a meat supplier, a halal certifier or a slaughter method; the FAQ says only that the primary menu consists of roast beef, brisket, corned beef, chicken, turkey and bacon. The Halal Monitoring Authority's register and ISNA Halal's directory, read the same day, list no Arby's. Any halal claim at a particular restaurant would be that franchisee's, not the chain's.
When was this page last checked?
On 1 October 2026 we read arbys.ca's FAQ, nutrition and allergen landing page and January 2024 guide, menu index and two category pages, home, story and terms pages and locator, a 2023 press release and a 2017 trade report, and the HMA and ISNA Halal registers. Next review is due on 31 October 2026, or sooner if Arby's Canada publishes anything.
Sources and what they cover
These are the statements behind this page. The scope beside each source distinguishes Canadian information, a single location and material from another country.
Arby's Canada, FAQ
Canada“Arby's primary menu consists of: Roast Beef, Brisket, Corned Beef, Chicken, Turkey, and Bacon.”
21 questions, read on 1 October 2026; none about halal or kosher. The FAQ points readers to the nutrition page for full nutrition and allergen details. No supplier, certifier or slaughter wording.
arbys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Arby's Canada, nutrition and allergen guide (January 2024)
Canada“Pork, water, salt, sugar, smoke flavor, sodium phosphate, sodium erythorbate, sodium nitrite, smoke.”
The bacon statement in the chain's seven-page guide, “effective as of January 2024,” naming Arby's of Canada, Inc.; the only occurrence of pork in the document. Read on 1 October 2026 from the live nutrition and allergen landing page. Also: roast beef, brisket, smoked meat and chicken ingredient statements; rennet in the Swiss cheese; white wine in the Dijon Honey Mustard spread; a shared-oil footnote. No halal, kosher, gelatin or lard wording.
arbys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Arby's Canada, nutrition and allergen landing page
Canada“Click the PDF outlining nutrition facts about the Arby's Canada menu items.”
Links the January 2024 guide; read on 1 October 2026; no halal wording. No newer guide is linked.
arbys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Arby's Canada, menu (Savoury Selections)
Canada“Flame-seared, knife carved gyro meat, with crispy vegetables, creamy tzatziki sauce, and warm pita bread.”
The Greek Gyro description, read on 1 October 2026; the species of the gyro meat is not stated and the January 2024 guide has no gyro entry. The Slow Roasted Beef page (ten items) was read the same day; ten of the twelve category pages were not opened.
arbys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Arby's Canada, restaurant locator
CanadaA map and search application, read on 1 October 2026: filters WiFi, Parking, Trivia Nights, Dine In, PickUp, Delivery, Drive Thru, Curbside Pick-up, Valet Parking and Smoking; no halal filter; no readable list, so no count. The chain's press release of 19 September 2023 said “57 stores in Canada.”
arbys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Business Wire, Arby's Canada press release
Canada“including 57 stores in Canada”
The chain's release of 19 September 2023, Toronto, on new fall menu items, read on 1 October 2026; spokesperson Vito Curalli. A 2023 count, the chain's figure; no sourcing or halal wording.
businesswire.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA) Canada
CanadaHMA's certified-restaurant register (82 entries, page modified 19 September 2026), read in a rendered browser on 1 October 2026, names no Arby's; its supplier list, dated September 2017, does not name it either. ISNA Halal's restaurant directory (34 entries) was read the same day with the same result; CHFCA's directory showed only “Loading” and could not be read.
hmacanada.org ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01How we checked Arby's
On 1 October 2026 we read arbys.ca's FAQ (21 question titles, searched for halal, kosher, pork, ham, gluten, cross-contamination and oil), its nutrition and allergen landing page and the January 2024 guide it links (seven pages: effective date, entity, ingredient statements for roast beef, brisket, Montreal smoked meat, crispy chicken, bacon, Swiss cheese and cheddar sauce, the shared-oil footnote and the variations disclaimer, with a keyword search), the menu category index (twelve categories) and the Slow Roasted Beef and Savoury Selections pages, the home, story and terms pages, and the locator, which rendered as a map with filters and no list.
Ten category pages and the contact, delivery and privacy pages were not opened; the site has no sitemap or robots file. We read a Business Wire release of 19 September 2023 and a QSR Magazine report of 4 May 2017 for the chain's counts. We read the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and supplier list, and ISNA Halal's restaurant directory (34 entries), in a rendered browser; CHFCA's directory would not load and CHEC was not reached.
CBC Marketplace's 2024 investigation did not include Arby's.
What we could not check: Arby's Canada has published nothing on halal; its guide is effective January 2024, predates the gyro items and says that ingredients vary with suppliers and preparation. Ten menu category pages were not opened and the locator has no readable list, so the count is the chain's 2023 figure. Franchisee claims are not tracked here. We have not called any restaurant and have seen no certificate.
Research and review: Researched by Halal Food Pass editorial on 7 September and 1 October 2026. Reviewed by Shaz Khan, publisher.
Change log:
- : First published as unclear, no public statement: the Canadian FAQ, nutrition landing page and January 2024 nutrition and allergen guide read, with no halal statement found; shared-oil footnote recorded.
- : Site read more widely: FAQ enumerated (21 questions), the guide's ingredient statements captured (bacon pork, rennet in the Swiss cheese, white wine in the Dijon Honey Mustard spread, shared oil), menu index and two category pages read (gyro meat without a published composition), locator filters read (no halal), terms entity and the chain's 2023 count recorded; HMA and ISNA Halal registers read in a rendered browser. Label unchanged; claim table and sections added. Review cadence set to 30 days.
How to read our halal labels
We report what a chain, a named certifier or a specific restaurant says, with the scope of that statement. Halal Food Pass does not certify halal.
A statement about chicken does not automatically cover the whole menu. A supplier certificate does not establish restaurant certification. A lack of published certification does not tell us how animals were slaughtered.
When a chain states publicly that its food is halal, we report that statement as the chain's own word, with its date, its scope and the certifier it names, and we treat it as standing until the chain withdraws it or evidence contradicts it. A claim that rests on unnamed phone calls or an anonymous post is reported as a claim, not as a finding.
Read our halal information policy or learn how to check a restaurant’s halal information.