Is it halal? Canada
Is Harvey's halal in Canada?
No halal certification nationally
Harvey's says its beef and chicken are not halal certified. Its Canadian FAQ, read on 1 October 2026 in English and French, answers "Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time." That is a statement about certification, not slaughter, covering beef and chicken, not the whole menu. No register we read lists a Harvey's.
What the evidence supports
| Question | Supported finding | Scope | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| What has Harvey's said? | Its English FAQ asks “Is your beef and chicken halal?” and answers “Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time.” Read twice on 1 October 2026 with identical wording. The page carries no date, and this is the only occurrence of halal on it. | Canada, national (beef and chicken; certification) | Harvey's, FAQ (English), retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| What does the French FAQ say? | It asks “Votre bœuf et votre poulet sont-ils halal?” and answers “Nos produits de bœuf et de poulet ne sont pas certifiés halal pour le moment.” Read twice on 1 October 2026. The August 2026 second sentence pointing to vegetarian products is no longer on the page. | Canada, national (French) | Harvey's, FAQ (French), retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| Did the wording change? | Yes, between 4 August and 1 October 2026. The August wording, “Our beef and chicken is not Halal certified.” in English and “Non, le bœuf et le poulet que nous utilisons ne sont pas certifiés Halal.” in French, no longer appears on either page. The answer is still in the negative; the new words “at this time” are Harvey's own. The date of the change is not known: the Internet Archive holds a capture of the English FAQ dated 21 August 2026 that our tools could not open. | Canada, national | Harvey's, FAQ (English and French), retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| What does the menu carry? | Bacon as an add-on and on burgers, poutines, hot dogs and breakfast items; a sausage patty and sausage breakfast items; hot dogs. The nutrition and allergens page, about 250 items in nine categories, does not state the species of any of them and has no halal, kosher, gelatin, enzyme, rennet or alcohol wording; it warns of a possibility of cross-contamination during manufacturing, processing and in-house preparation. | Canada, national menu | Harvey's, nutrition and allergens, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| What about the beef, the gravy and shared preparation? | The FAQ says the Angus beef is “raised without the use of added hormones, steroids or antibiotics” and that every burger is flame-grilled on an open-fire broiler; the Canadian beef page says “100% Canadian Beef.” Neither names a supplier, a certifier or a slaughter method. The gravy is “100% vegetarian”; the veggie burger is cooked on a dedicated section of the grill with “a possibility of cross-contamination with animal-based products”; the fries use shared fryer equipment. | Canada, national (sourcing and preparation) | Harvey's, FAQ and Canadian beef page, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| Is any Harvey's restaurant certified? | No. On 1 October 2026 the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurant directory (34 entries), read in a rendered browser, named no Harvey's; HMA's supplier list of September 2017 does not name it. CHFCA's directory would not load. This corroborates the chain's own statement; the label rests on that statement. | Canada, registers | HMA, ISNA Halal and CHFCA registers, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
| How many restaurants? | Not counted: the locator and both location sitemaps returned unreadable data on 1 October 2026, as in August. The chain's own figure, from its chief operating officer Michael Nault in a Retail Insider interview of 23 April 2024, is “300 chain restaurants.” Whether any restaurant page differs from the national FAQ could not be tested. | Canada, chain figure (2024) | Retail Insider, 23 April 2024, retrieved 2026-10-01 |
What this means before you order
Not certified, per Harvey's. The chain answers the question itself. Its Canadian FAQ poses “Is your beef and chicken halal?” and, as read on 1 October 2026, answers: “Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time.” The French FAQ asks “Votre bœuf et votre poulet sont-ils halal?” and answers: “Nos produits de bœuf et de poulet ne sont pas certifiés halal pour le moment.”
Harvey's operates only in Canada and this is its single national FAQ, so the statement is national. Note the precise claim: Harvey's is telling you there is no halal certification of its beef and chicken, not describing how its suppliers slaughter, and it says nothing about the rest of the menu. The words “at this time” are the chain's own hedge and we carry them as written.
The wording changed between 4 August and 1 October 2026. In August the English answer read “Our beef and chicken is not Halal certified.” and the French answer added that the menu includes some vegetarian products; both sentences are gone, and the earlier version of this page, which leaned on that French pointer to vegetarian items, is rewritten accordingly. The rest of harveys.ca says nothing about halal.
The nutrition and allergens page, about 250 items in nine categories, has no halal, kosher, gelatin, enzyme or alcohol wording and warns of cross-contamination in manufacturing, processing and in-house preparation. The menu carries bacon, sausage and hot dogs whose species is not stated anywhere we read. The gravy is described as “100% vegetarian,” the veggie burger is cooked on a dedicated section of a shared grill, and the fries use shared fryers.
No certifier register we could read lists a Harvey's.
Suppliers and preparation can change. Confirm the current halal information with the specific restaurant before ordering.
What official sources establish
Harvey's answers the halal question on its own site, in both official languages. Its English FAQ at harveys.ca, read on 1 October 2026, asks “Is your beef and chicken halal?” and answers: “Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time.” The French FAQ asks “Votre bœuf et votre poulet sont-ils halal?” and answers: “Nos produits de bœuf et de poulet ne sont pas certifiés halal pour le moment.”
Harvey's operates only in Canada and this is its single national FAQ; the pages carry no date. That is the statement this page rests on, and it is exactly what the label “no halal certification nationally” describes: the chain, in its own words, saying that its beef and chicken are not certified.
The words have changed since this page was first written. On 4 August 2026 the English answer read “Our beef and chicken is not Halal certified.” and the French answer read “Non, le bœuf et le poulet que nous utilisons ne sont pas certifiés Halal. Toutefois, notre menu comporte quelques produits végétariens.” Neither sentence is on either page now: the pointer to vegetarian products is gone, and “at this time” has arrived. The answer remains in the negative. When the change was made is not known; the Internet Archive holds a capture of the English FAQ dated 21 August 2026, which our tools could not open.
Nothing else on harveys.ca mentions halal. On 1 October 2026 we read the nutrition and allergens page (about 250 items in nine categories, with no document to download), the Canadian beef page (“100% Canadian Beef”), the about page, the terms (Recipe Unlimited Corporation, Vaughan, Ontario), the contact page, the menu landing page and a product page, and enumerated the site's page and product sitemaps; no address contains halal, ingredient, allergen or sourcing, and none of the pages we read mentions halal apart from the FAQ.
Recipe Unlimited's corporate food responsibility page describes Harvey's participation in the CRSB, the Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef, since 2019 and a vendor code of conduct, and says nothing about halal.
No certifier lists a Harvey's. On 1 October 2026 the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register and ISNA Halal's restaurant directory named none, HMA's supplier list of September 2017 does not name it, and CHFCA's directory would not load. That is corroboration; the label rests on the chain's own statement.
Locations and products
The statement is national and admits no exceptions. Harvey's publishes one FAQ for the whole chain, and nothing on its site suggests any restaurant differs. We could not test that at restaurant level: the locator and the location sitemaps returned unreadable data on 1 October 2026, as they did in August. The chain's own count, given by its chief operating officer to Retail Insider in April 2024, is 300 restaurants.
The products the statement covers are beef and chicken. The menu also carries bacon, as an add-on and on burgers, poutines, hot dogs and breakfast items; a sausage patty and sausage breakfast items; and hot dogs, whose product page says only “Flame-grilled hot dog and your choice of toppings on a soft toasted bun.” No page we read states the species of any of them. The nutrition and allergens page lists cheese slices and cheese curds without enzyme or rennet wording, and no beverage alcohol appears on it.
If a Harvey's near you advertises halal on its own sign or delivery listing, that would contradict the chain's national FAQ; treat it as the franchisee's claim, ask for the certificate and the supplier, and check the date. No such claim was found by search on 1 October 2026.
Certification, ingredients and preparation
“Not Halal certified” is a statement about certification, not about slaughter. Certification is a third-party audit that a chain pays for; its absence tells you that no certifier has audited Harvey's beef and chicken, not how the cattle and chickens were slaughtered or by whom. Harvey's names no supplier, certifier or slaughter method anywhere on its site. We print what the chain says and no more than that: a missing certificate, not a verdict on the meat.
“At this time” is the chain's hedge, not ours. The phrase arrived with the new wording; it may signal that certification is under consideration, or it may be a form of words. Harvey's has not said which, and we do not guess. Until the FAQ changes again, the answer is in the negative.
Beef and chicken are not the whole menu. The FAQ says nothing about the bacon, sausage and hot dogs, whose species is unstated, or about the cheeses and sauces. The gravy is “100% vegetarian” but “not certified vegan” and its base ingredients are not disclosed; the veggie burger is cooked on a dedicated section of a grill that also cooks meat, with “a possibility of cross-contamination with animal-based products”; the fries use shared fryer equipment. Whether a meat-free order meets your standard is a question for the restaurant and for the certifier you trust.
What Harvey's has not said, and what to check before ordering
Not said by Harvey's as of 1 October 2026: whether it or Recipe Unlimited is evaluating halal certification, and for which products or provinces, now that the FAQ says “at this time”; when the answer was reworded and why the French pointer to vegetarian products was removed; who supplies the beef and chicken and whether any supplier holds a halal certificate even though the restaurants do not; whether the bacon, sausage and hot dog products are pork, beef or a blend; and whether any franchisee may advertise halal locally.
Before ordering, read the FAQ as it stands that day, because it has changed this year. If a restaurant tells you something different from the national FAQ, ask which supplier and certifier stand behind the claim, ask to see the certificate and check its date. Remember that bacon, sausage and hot dogs of unstated species share the kitchen, the grill and the fryers.
Harvey's halal FAQs
Is Harvey's halal in Canada?
Not certified, per Harvey's. The chain's own Canadian FAQ, read on 1 October 2026, asks "Is your beef and chicken halal?" and answers "Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time." The French FAQ gives the same answer. That is the chain's statement about certification of its beef and chicken; it is not describing how its suppliers slaughter, and it says nothing about the rest of the menu. No certifier register we could read lists a Harvey's.
What exactly does Harvey's say about halal, in English and in French?
In English, as read on 1 October 2026: "Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time." In French: "Nos produits de bœuf et de poulet ne sont pas certifiés halal pour le moment." Both answer the FAQ question "Is your beef and chicken halal?" ("Votre bœuf et votre poulet sont-ils halal?"). The pages carry no date, and this is the only mention of halal on harveys.ca.
Did Harvey's change its halal answer in 2026?
Yes, between 4 August and 1 October 2026. In August the English answer read "Our beef and chicken is not Halal certified." and the French answer added that the menu includes some vegetarian products. On 1 October 2026 both pages carried the new wording quoted above, with "at this time" added and the vegetarian sentence removed. The answer is still in the negative. The exact date of the change is not known.
Does "not Halal certified at this time" mean the meat is not halal?
It means there is no halal certification. Certification is a paid third-party audit, and Harvey's is answering about that, not describing its suppliers' slaughter practices; it names no supplier, certifier or slaughter method anywhere on its site. "At this time" is the chain's own phrase, and it has not said what it signals. We report what Harvey's says, as of 1 October 2026, and no more than that.
Does Harvey's serve pork, bacon or hot dogs?
The national menu, read on the nutrition and allergens page on 1 October 2026, carries bacon as an add-on and on burgers, poutines, hot dogs and breakfast items, a sausage patty and sausage breakfast items, and hot dogs. No page we read states whether these are pork, beef or a blend; the Grilled Hot Dog product page says only "Flame-grilled hot dog and your choice of toppings on a soft toasted bun." Ask the restaurant.
Is Harvey's gravy, poutine or veggie burger prepared separately from meat?
Partly, per the FAQ read on 1 October 2026. The gravy is "100% vegetarian" but "not certified vegan," with its base ingredients undisclosed. The veggie burger is cooked "on a dedicated section of our grill," with "a possibility of cross-contamination with animal-based products." Fries are "prepared using shared fryer equipment." Nothing describes any halal segregation; whether that meets your standard is for you and the certifier you trust.
When was this page last checked?
On 1 October 2026 we read Harvey's English and French FAQs twice each, its nutrition and allergens page, its Canadian beef, about, terms, contact and menu pages and sitemaps, Recipe Unlimited's food responsibility page, a 2024 Retail Insider interview, and the HMA and ISNA Halal registers. Next review is due on 31 October 2026, or sooner if Harvey's changes its FAQ again.
Sources and what they cover
These are the statements behind this page. The scope beside each source distinguishes Canadian information, a single location and material from another country.
Harvey's, FAQ (English)
Canada“Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time.”
The chain's Canadian FAQ asks “Is your beef and chicken halal?” and gives this answer. Read twice on 1 October 2026 with identical wording; the page is undated and this is its only mention of halal. The August 2026 wording, “Our beef and chicken is not Halal certified.”, is no longer on the page.
harveys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Harvey's, FAQ (French)
Canada“Nos produits de bœuf et de poulet ne sont pas certifiés halal pour le moment.”
The French FAQ asks “Votre bœuf et votre poulet sont-ils halal?” and gives this answer. Read twice on 1 October 2026. The August 2026 sentence pointing to vegetarian products, “Toutefois, notre menu comporte quelques produits végétariens.”, is no longer on the page.
harveys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Harvey's, nutrition and allergens
Canada“THERE IS A POSSIBILITY OF CROSS-CONTAMINATION OCCURRING DURING MANUFACTURING, PROCESSING AND IN-HOUSE PREPARATION.”
Inline tables for about 250 items in nine categories, read on 1 October 2026; no document to download. Bacon, sausage and hot dog items appear without their species; no halal, kosher, gelatin, enzyme, rennet or alcohol wording. The page notes that at select locations the crispy chicken patty and chicken nuggets contain milk.
harveys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Harvey's, Canadian beef page
Canada“We're proud to support Canadian beef farming families and the care they have provided to the cattle on their land for over 150 years.”
“100% Canadian Beef”: an origin claim, read on 1 October 2026, naming no supplier, certifier or slaughter method. The FAQ adds that the Angus beef is raised without added hormones, steroids or antibiotics.
harveys.ca ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Recipe Unlimited Corporation, food responsibility
CanadaThe parent company's corporate page, read on 1 October 2026: Harvey's participation in the CRSB, the Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef, since 2019, a 2023 partner code of conduct sent to over 350 vendors, and GFSI certification of larger food vendors. Sustainability and food safety; no halal wording.
recipeunlimited.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA) Canada
CanadaHMA's certified-restaurant register (82 entries, page modified 19 September 2026), read in a rendered browser on 1 October 2026, names no Harvey's; its supplier list, dated September 2017, does not name it either. ISNA Halal's restaurant directory (34 entries) was read the same day with the same result; CHFCA's directory showed only “Loading” and could not be read.
hmacanada.org ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01Retail Insider
Canada“With 300 chain restaurants”
An interview of 23 April 2024 with Harvey's chief operating officer, Michael Nault, read on 1 October 2026; the chain's own count, not ours, recorded because the locator could not be read. No sourcing or halal wording.
retail-insider.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01How we checked Harvey's
On 1 October 2026 we read Harvey's English FAQ (nine sections, 39 question titles) and French FAQ, each twice, and confirmed that the halal answer is the only mention of halal on either page; the nutrition and allergens page (about 250 items, nine categories, no document to download); the Canadian beef, about, terms, contact and menu pages and the Grilled Hot Dog product page; the site's sitemap index, pages sitemap (112 addresses) and pickup products sitemap (100 product addresses), none containing halal, ingredient, allergen or sourcing in its address; Recipe Unlimited's corporate food responsibility page; and Retail Insider's interview of 23 April 2024.
The locator and both location sitemaps returned unreadable data. We read the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and supplier list, and ISNA Halal's restaurant directory (34 entries), in a rendered browser; CHFCA's directory would not load and CHEC was not reached. The Internet Archive's capture of the English FAQ dated 21 August 2026 could not be opened. CBC Marketplace's 2024 investigation did not include Harvey's.
What we could not check: Harvey's FAQ carries no date, so the wording is current as published, not as reviewed, and it has changed since August 2026 on a date we could not establish. The restaurant count is the chain's 2024 figure; the locator could not be read, so no restaurant page was tested against the national FAQ. We have not called any restaurant and have seen no certificate.
Research and review: Researched by Halal Food Pass editorial on 4 August and 1 October 2026. Reviewed by Shaz Khan, publisher.
Change log:
- : First published as no halal certification nationally: Harvey's English and French FAQs answered the halal question in the negative (“Our beef and chicken is not Halal certified.”); nutrition, contact and Recipe Unlimited pages read; registers checked.
- : FAQ re-read in both languages: the answer is reworded to “Our beef and chicken offerings are not Halal certified at this time.” and the French pointer to vegetarian products is gone; quotes replaced and the FAQ that rested on the removed sentence rewritten. Nutrition page, Canadian beef, about, terms and sitemaps read, with the bacon, sausage and hot dog items recorded; HMA and ISNA Halal registers read in a rendered browser. Label unchanged; verdict word now attributes the statement to the chain; claim table and sections added. Review cadence set to 30 days.
How to read our halal labels
We report what a chain, a named certifier or a specific restaurant says, with the scope of that statement. Halal Food Pass does not certify halal.
A statement about chicken does not automatically cover the whole menu. A supplier certificate does not establish restaurant certification. A lack of published certification does not tell us how animals were slaughtered.
When a chain states publicly that its food is halal, we report that statement as the chain's own word, with its date, its scope and the certifier it names, and we treat it as standing until the chain withdraws it or evidence contradicts it. A claim that rests on unnamed phone calls or an anonymous post is reported as a claim, not as a finding.
Read our halal information policy or learn how to check a restaurant’s halal information.