Halal Food Pass

Is it halal? Canada

Is Boston Pizza halal in Canada?

Varies by location

Boston Pizza describes halal as a choice location by location: in the email CBC Marketplace reported in October 2024, it said locations serving halal must complete online training and can access certificates. Its Ancaster restaurant advertises a halal menu on the chain's own site, naming no certifier, while its delivery menu lists ham and bacon; a directory lists ten franchises.

What the evidence supports

QuestionSupported findingScopeSource and date
What has Boston Pizza said?That halal is a location's choice. CBC Marketplace, 18 October 2024, reporting the chain's email: “At Boston Pizza, locations that offer halal are required to complete online training, the restaurant said in an email.” and “It said halal certificates are regularly updated and accessible to the locations that choose to provide halal menu items.” The email itself is not published; we read CBC's text on 1 October 2026 in the Yahoo News Canada republication. The chain names no certifier and does not say the certificates are restaurant certificates.Canada, chain policy as reported, 2024CBC Marketplace, 18 October 2024, Yahoo News Canada republication, retrieved 2026-10-01
Which locations serve halal?The chain publishes no list and its locator is a search box with no halal tag. The one location-level claim on the chain's own site is Ancaster, Ontario: the location page at bostonpizza.com carries “Halal Feast at Boston Pizza Ancaster Family Mar 21 - Dec 31” (1070 Wilson Street W). The chain's pages for Mississauga Road, Brampton, Scarborough Town Centre and Crowfoot (Calgary), read the same day, carry no halal wording and no halal event (Brampton's event is an NFL tailgate). Other locations with a halal menu cannot be ruled out from the chain's site, which lists events only location by location.Ancaster, Ontario, one location; four other location pagesBoston Pizza, Ancaster location page, retrieved 2026-10-01
What does the Ancaster event claim?“Join us for a delightful journey at Boston Pizza Ancaster as we unveil our new Halal menu!” and “With a variety of certified Halal dishes crafted with authentic flavors, we ensure a dining experience that is both delicious and fulfilling.” and “gourmet pizzas, savory pastas, and enticing appetizers all crafted to Halal standards.” Dated 21 March to 31 December 2026, organiser Boston Pizza Ancaster, shown in the pictures below. “Certified” is the restaurant's word: no certifier is named, no certificate is shown, and the page does not say whether pork and alcohol remain on the Ancaster menu. The restaurant's own SkipTheDishes menu, read the same day, lists a Maple Bacon Burger, an Italian Deli pizza with smoked ham and a Royal Hawaiian with smoked prosciutto and bacon, and carries no halal label.Ancaster, Ontario, 2026 eventBoston Pizza Ancaster, event page, retrieved 2026-10-01
What did CBC Marketplace find at a Boston Pizza?Historical findings from 2024 visits to two GTA locations: at one, an employee showed “a halal certificate issued to a meat supplier” and “used the document to suggest the entire restaurant was certified”; a Boston Pizza “produced certificates that had expired eight years ago”; and at one Boston Pizza “employees did not know the method of slaughter on the day the team visited.” The locations are not named. These findings say nothing about any restaurant today.Two GTA locations, 2024, historicalCBC Marketplace, 18 October 2024, Yahoo News Canada republication, retrieved 2026-10-01
Does the national menu carry pork and alcohol, and does the FAQ say anything?Yes, and no. The pizza menu, 24 pizzas read on 1 October 2026: smoked ham (Italian Deli, Hawaiian, Great White North, The Meateor), bacon (Carbonara, Spicy Perogy, Tropical Chicken, Whisky BBQ Chicken), smoked prosciutto (Royal Hawaiian), “Vodka sauce” (Pepperoni Stinger) and “J.P. Wiser's Whisky BBQ sauce” (Whisky BBQ Chicken). The nutrition page lists Slow-Roasted Pork Back Ribs and a Maple Bacon Burger; the species of the pepperoni and spicy Italian sausage is not stated; locations run a sports bar. The FAQ at /en/faq.html (43 questions) and at /en/frequently-asked-questions.html (47), read in full, mention neither halal, kosher, pork, alcohol nor certification; on allergies they say “ingredients may vary by location.”Canada, national menu and corporate FAQBoston Pizza, pizza menu and FAQ, retrieved 2026-10-01
Is any Boston Pizza restaurant certified?Not on any register. On 1 October 2026 the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries, page dated 19 September 2026) and ISNA Halal's restaurant listings (34 entries), both read in a rendered browser, named no Boston Pizza; HMA's supplier list and Halal Check list name none either. HMA's Omar Subedar told CBC an entire restaurant is certified only if every ingredient is checked and “there must be no pork products or alcohol served on the premises.” The certifier behind the “halal certificates” the chain described to CBC, and behind Ancaster's “certified Halal dishes,” is unnamed in every source read.Canada, certifier registersHMA and ISNA Halal registers, retrieved 2026-10-01
Which locations do directories and diners describe?HalalRun lists ten open Boston Pizza franchises, every one as “Some meat is halal” and never fully halal: Hamilton (1565 Upper James St), Vaughan (3255 Rutherford Rd), Barrhaven (1681 Greenbank Rd), Markham (7680 Markham Rd), Niagara Falls (4725 Dorchester Rd), Simcoe, Scarborough (400 Progress Ave), Whitby (20 Taunton Rd E), Mississauga Square One (35 Square One Dr) and Edmonton (9804 22 Ave NW). Its basis is “Staff has confirmed” at four and “Signage in restaurant or on menus” at six; where it records a certificate line it reads “Halal certificate not present”; where it names the meat it is “Chicken is halal”; and most carry “Alcohol served.” Zabihah and The Halal Food list no Boston Pizza. The earliest dated diner account is a Toronto blog of 27 September 2010: “the Boston Pizza locations in and around the Greater Toronto Area now offer Halal options!”, with a server's answer that “I can order any of the chicken items, except ones that are breaded.” Listings and a diner's report, not certificates.Ontario and Alberta, ten franchises; directory listings and a 2010 diner reportHalalRun; a bengali in TO (blog), 27 September 2010, retrieved 2026-10-01
What do the delivery menus of listed locations show?Pork, unlabelled. The SkipTheDishes menu for Boston Pizza, 1070 Wilson St W, the Ancaster restaurant behind the Halal Feast, lists the Maple Bacon Burger (“candied maple bacon”), the Italian Deli Pizza (“pepperoni, smoked ham”) and the Royal Hawaiian (“smoked prosciutto, bacon”) and never uses the word halal. The SkipTheDishes menu for 35 Square One Dr, Mississauga, which HalalRun tags “Chicken is halal,” lists “Smoky bacon” on The Classic Canadian and “Smoked ham” on the Hawaiian with no halal word. The halal menu Ancaster advertises is not marked on its delivery menu, and an absent label is the platform's copy of the menu, not a statement either way.Ancaster and Mississauga, delivery platform copySkipTheDishes (Ancaster and Square One), retrieved 2026-10-01

Documents we read

Event title Halal Feast at Boston Pizza Ancaster, with the dates Mar 21 to Dec 31 and the location Ancaster.
The chain's own events site, events.bostonpizza.com: the Halal Feast listing by Boston Pizza Ancaster, 1070 Wilson Street West, Hamilton, dated 21 March to 31 December 2026. Rendered by Halal Food Pass on 1 October 2026.
About this Event paragraph: Join us for a delightful journey at Boston Pizza Ancaster as we unveil our new Halal menu! With a variety of certified Halal dishes crafted with authentic flavors, we ensure a dining experience that is both delicious and fulfilling, continuing with gourmet pizzas, savory pastas and appetizers all crafted to Halal standards, and ending Reserve your table now!
The About this Event text of the same listing, rendered by Halal Food Pass on 1 October 2026. “Certified” is the restaurant's word: no certifier is named and no certificate is shown anywhere on the page, and the restaurant's delivery menu lists ham, bacon and prosciutto without a halal label.

What this means before you order

At some locations, on Boston Pizza's own word, and the chain does not say which. In the email CBC Marketplace reported on 18 October 2024, which we read on 1 October 2026 in the Yahoo News Canada republication of CBC's text: “At Boston Pizza, locations that offer halal are required to complete online training, the restaurant said in an email.” and “It said halal certificates are regularly updated and accessible to the locations that choose to provide halal menu items.”

That is the chain describing halal as a per-location choice, and nothing since withdraws it. On the chain's own site today, the Ancaster, Ontario location page carries “Halal Feast at Boston Pizza Ancaster” and the linked event page, shown above, says “we unveil our new Halal menu!” with “a variety of certified Halal dishes,” naming no certifier; the same restaurant's SkipTheDishes menu lists smoked ham, bacon and prosciutto with no halal label.

Beyond Ancaster, the directory HalalRun lists ten Ontario and Alberta franchises as serving some halal meat, on staff's word or in-store signage, and a diner's blog dates the practice to 2010. The corporate FAQ, read in full, says nothing about halal, and no certifier register lists a Boston Pizza.

What the chain's own menu says matters as much. The national pizza menu, read on 1 October 2026, carries smoked ham, bacon and smoked prosciutto, a Vodka sauce on the Pepperoni Stinger and a J.P. Wiser's Whisky BBQ sauce; the nutrition page lists Slow-Roasted Pork Back Ribs, and the restaurants run a sports bar. The FAQ tells guests “ingredients may vary by location.”

The same CBC report is historical and cuts the other way: at one GTA Boston Pizza an employee used a meat supplier's certificate “to suggest the entire restaurant was certified,” and a Boston Pizza “produced certificates that had expired eight years ago.” HMA's Imam Omar Subedar told CBC a certified restaurant must have “no pork products or alcohol served on the premises.”

On 1 October 2026 the HMA register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurant listings (34 entries) named no Boston Pizza, and Zabihah and The Halal Food have no entry for the chain.

Suppliers and preparation can change. Confirm the current halal information with the specific restaurant before ordering.

What official sources establish

Boston Pizza's statement is an email, known through CBC. CBC Marketplace's report of 18 October 2024, “Fast-food chains serving up halal food with a side of misinformation, expired certificates,” summarised the chain's response in two sentences: “At Boston Pizza, locations that offer halal are required to complete online training, the restaurant said in an email.” and “It said halal certificates are regularly updated and accessible to the locations that choose to provide halal menu items.” We read CBC's text on 1 October 2026 in the Yahoo News Canada republication, which reproduces the CBC byline and article in full; the email itself has not been published.

We take a national chain at its word when it describes its own halal policy for publication: the company is answerable for the description and would have to correct it if it were untrue. So this page reports the per-location policy as Boston Pizza's statement and treats it as standing; nothing since 2024 withdraws it. What the statement does not do is name a location, a certifier or a product, or say whether the “halal certificates” cover a restaurant or only a supplier's meat.

The chain's own site carries one location-level claim, shown in the pictures above. The Ancaster, Ontario page at bostonpizza.com lists “Halal Feast at Boston Pizza Ancaster Family Mar 21 - Dec 31,” and the linked event page on events.bostonpizza.com says “we unveil our new Halal menu!” and promises “a variety of certified Halal dishes” and dishes “all crafted to Halal standards,” with dates from 21 March to 31 December 2026 and the organiser Boston Pizza Ancaster.

It names no certifier and shows no certificate. The chain's pages for Mississauga Road, Brampton, Scarborough Town Centre and Crowfoot in Calgary, read the same day on the same template, carry no halal wording and no halal event. The corporate FAQ, 43 questions at one address and 47 at another, every answer read, says nothing about halal and tells guests that “ingredients may vary by location.”

No certifier lists a Boston Pizza restaurant. On 1 October 2026 the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register, 82 entries on a page dated 19 September 2026, and ISNA Halal's restaurant listings, 34 entries, were read in a rendered browser and name none; HMA's supplier list and Halal Check list name no Boston Pizza either. The certifier behind the certificates the chain described to CBC, and behind Ancaster's “certified Halal dishes,” is unnamed in every source read, and the one directory that lists Boston Pizza franchises records “Halal certificate not present” wherever it records a certificate line at all.

Locations and products

Boston Pizza publishes no list of the locations that “choose to provide halal menu items,” and its locator is a search box with no halal tag. The English sitemap lists a page per restaurant under /en/locations/; we opened Ancaster, Mississauga Road, Brampton, Scarborough Town Centre and Crowfoot, and publish no count. Ancaster, at 1070 Wilson Street W, is the one location the chain's own site names; the events site lists events location by location, so other locations with a halal menu cannot be ruled out from it.

The directory HalalRun lists ten open franchises as serving some halal meat: Hamilton (1565 Upper James St), Vaughan (3255 Rutherford Rd), Barrhaven (1681 Greenbank Rd), Markham (7680 Markham Rd), Niagara Falls (4725 Dorchester Rd), Simcoe, Scarborough (400 Progress Ave), Whitby (20 Taunton Rd E), Mississauga Square One (35 Square One Dr) and Edmonton (9804 22 Ave NW), on staff's confirmation at four and in-store signage at six, with “Chicken is halal” where it names the meat, “Halal certificate not present” where it records a certificate line, and “Alcohol served” at most.

Zabihah and The Halal Food list none. A Toronto diner's blog of 27 September 2010 reported that GTA locations had begun serving halal chicken, on a server's word, so the per-location practice is at least sixteen years old. These are listings and a diner's report, not certificates, and the Scarborough Town Centre location that HalalRun lists is one whose chain page says nothing.

The national menu is not a halal menu. The pizza page, 24 pizzas, carries smoked ham, bacon and smoked prosciutto, a Vodka sauce and a J.P. Wiser's Whisky BBQ sauce; the nutrition page lists Slow-Roasted Pork Back Ribs, a Maple Bacon Burger and Montréal Smoked Meat; the species of the pepperoni and spicy Italian sausage is not stated anywhere on the site; and the restaurants run a sports bar.

The Ancaster event describes “certified Halal dishes” without saying which dishes, who certified them, or whether pork and alcohol remain on the Ancaster menu, and the Ancaster restaurant's own SkipTheDishes menu answers the last question: it lists the Maple Bacon Burger, the Italian Deli pizza with smoked ham and the Royal Hawaiian with smoked prosciutto and bacon, and carries no halal label.

The Square One menu on the same platform lists smoky bacon and smoked ham with no halal word.

If a Boston Pizza near you advertises halal on its own sign, delivery listing or events page, that is the location's claim within the chain's per-location policy; it is not a national statement, and this page tracks it only as far as the chain's site and the directories above. Ask that restaurant which dishes are covered, who certified them, and to show you the current certificate; the directory pattern, chicken only, by staff's word, no certificate on hand and a bar on site, is what to expect at the counter.

Certification, ingredients and preparation

A per-location policy is not a certified chain. Boston Pizza says locations choose halal and train for it; no certifier has published a certificate for any Boston Pizza kitchen, and HMA's Imam Omar Subedar told CBC that an entire restaurant can be certified only if every ingredient at the location is checked and “there must be no pork products or alcohol served on the premises.” A Boston Pizza, with pork on the menu and a bar, is not that in the chain's own description, and the chain does not claim it is.

A supplier's certificate is not the restaurant's. CBC Marketplace found in 2024 that at one GTA Boston Pizza an employee showed “a halal certificate issued to a meat supplier” and “used the document to suggest the entire restaurant was certified.” The chain's own statement speaks of certificates “accessible to the locations,” which fits supplier certificates for the meat, not certification of a restaurant.

An expired certificate is a paperwork failure, and a historical one. The Boston Pizza CBC visited “produced certificates that had expired eight years ago,” and at one Boston Pizza staff “did not know the method of slaughter on the day the team visited.” Those are 2024 findings at unnamed GTA locations; they say nothing about the paper at any restaurant today, and nothing about whether the meat that day was halal. They do say that a certificate shown at a counter needs its date and its supplier checked.

“Certified Halal dishes” on an event page is the restaurant's word. The Ancaster listing sits on the chain's own site, so it is reported here, but it names no certifier, shows no certificate and does not say whether the dishes are prepared apart from pork and alcohol; its delivery menu shows that pork stays on it. Certifiers and schools of thought also differ on slaughter method, which no Boston Pizza document addresses; apply the standard of a certifier you trust.

What Boston Pizza has not said, and what to check before ordering

Not said by Boston Pizza as of 1 October 2026: which Canadian locations currently provide halal menu items, and whether it will publish a list or a locator tag; which certifier issues the “halal certificates” it says are regularly updated, and whether they cover a restaurant, its menu items or a supplier's meat; what the online training covers, and whether it addresses pork, prosciutto, alcohol-based sauces and the bar on the same premises; at Ancaster, which dishes are the certified ones, who certified them, and whether pork and alcohol are still served; and whether the certificates CBC found expired by eight years were replaced.

Before ordering, ask the restaurant whether it provides halal menu items under the chain's policy, which dishes are covered, which supplier the meat comes from and who certified it; ask to see the certificate and check its date and whether it names the supplier or the restaurant; and remember that ham, bacon, prosciutto, pork ribs, vodka and whisky sauces and a bar are on the same premises.

Boston Pizza halal FAQs

Is Boston Pizza halal in Canada?

At some locations, on Boston Pizza's own word, and the chain does not say which. In the email CBC Marketplace reported in October 2024, the chain said locations serving halal must complete online training and that halal certificates are "accessible to the locations that choose to provide halal menu items." Its Ancaster, Ontario restaurant advertises a halal menu on the chain's own site, naming no certifier, and a directory lists ten franchises as serving some halal meat, chicken where it says, with no certificate on hand. The national menu carries pork and alcohol, and no certifier register lists a Boston Pizza. Ask your location.

What did Boston Pizza tell CBC Marketplace about halal in 2024?

Per CBC's 18 October 2024 report, which we read on 1 October 2026 in its Yahoo News Canada republication, the chain said in an email that locations serving halal are required to complete online training, and that "halal certificates are regularly updated and accessible to the locations that choose to provide halal menu items." The email itself is not published, the chain named no certifier, and it did not say whether the certificates cover a restaurant or a supplier's meat. Nothing since withdraws the statement.

Which Boston Pizza locations serve halal, and how would I know?

Boston Pizza publishes no list and its locator has no halal tag, so the chain does not tell you. The only location its own site names is Ancaster, Ontario, through a Halal Feast event listing on the location page. The directory HalalRun lists ten franchises as serving some halal meat, in Hamilton, Vaughan, Barrhaven, Markham, Niagara Falls, Simcoe, Scarborough, Whitby, Mississauga Square One and Edmonton, on staff's word or in-store signage and with no certificate recorded; those are listings, not the chain's word, and stock changes. Other locations may serve halal under the chain's per-location policy. Ask the restaurant directly which dishes are halal and who certified them.

What does the Boston Pizza Ancaster Halal Feast claim?

The event page on the chain's events site, read on 1 October 2026, says "we unveil our new Halal menu!" and promises "a variety of certified Halal dishes" and dishes "all crafted to Halal standards," dated 21 March to 31 December 2026. It names no certifier, shows no certificate, does not say which dishes are covered, and does not say whether pork and alcohol remain on the Ancaster menu; the restaurant's SkipTheDishes menu, read the same day, lists a Maple Bacon Burger, smoked ham and prosciutto with no halal label. "Certified" is the restaurant's word.

What did CBC find about expired certificates at a Boston Pizza?

CBC Marketplace reported in October 2024 that a Boston Pizza it visited "produced certificates that had expired eight years ago," that at one Boston Pizza an employee used a meat supplier's certificate to suggest the whole restaurant was certified, and that at one Boston Pizza staff did not know the method of slaughter that day. We read CBC's text on 1 October 2026 in its Yahoo News Canada republication. The findings are historical, from 2024 visits to unnamed GTA locations, and say nothing about any certificate today.

Does Boston Pizza serve pork and alcohol?

Yes, nationally, per its own menu read on 1 October 2026: smoked ham, bacon and smoked prosciutto on the pizza menu, Slow-Roasted Pork Back Ribs and a Maple Bacon Burger on the nutrition page, a Vodka sauce and a J.P. Wiser's Whisky BBQ sauce, and a sports bar at its restaurants. The species of the pepperoni and spicy Italian sausage is not stated. Whether a location with a halal menu keeps those off its premises is not said.

When was this page last checked?

On 1 October 2026 we read CBC Marketplace's October 2024 report in its Yahoo News Canada republication, Boston Pizza's Ancaster location page and Halal Feast event page, four other location pages, its corporate FAQ in full at both addresses, its pizza menu and nutrition pages, its locator and sitemap, the SkipTheDishes menus for Ancaster and Square One, HalalRun's ten listings, the Zabihah and The Halal Food searches, a 2010 diner blog, and the HMA and ISNA Halal registers in a rendered browser. Next review is due on 31 October 2026, or sooner if Boston Pizza publishes anything.

Sources and what they cover

These are the statements behind this page. The scope beside each source distinguishes Canadian information, a single location and material from another country.

CBC News, Marketplace (Yahoo News Canada republication)

Canada

“It said halal certificates are regularly updated and accessible to the locations that choose to provide halal menu items.”

“Fast-food chains serving up halal food with a side of misinformation, expired certificates,” CBC, 18 October 2024, read on 1 October 2026 in the Yahoo News Canada republication, which reproduces CBC's byline and full text. Reports the chain's email (online training for locations that serve halal; certificates accessible to locations that choose to), the supplier certificate shown as restaurant-wide at a Boston Pizza, the certificates expired eight years, and HMA's definition of a certified restaurant. The email itself is not published. The findings are historical, from 2024 visits.

ca.news.yahoo.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Boston Pizza, Ancaster location page

Canada

“Halal Feast at Boston Pizza Ancaster”

The chain's own location page for 1070 Wilson Street W, Ancaster, Ontario, read on 1 October 2026, lists the event with the dates Mar 21 to Dec 31 beside the location's features (family restaurant, sports bar, delivery, late night). An event listing, not a certificate; one location.

bostonpizza.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Boston Pizza Ancaster, Halal Feast event page

Canada

“With a variety of certified Halal dishes crafted with authentic flavors, we ensure a dining experience that is both delicious and fulfilling.”

On events.bostonpizza.com, read on 1 October 2026 and shown in the pictures on this page: “we unveil our new Halal menu!” and dishes “all crafted to Halal standards,” dated 21 March to 31 December 2026, organiser Boston Pizza Ancaster, 1070 Wilson Street West, Hamilton. No certifier named, no certificate shown; “certified” is the restaurant's word.

events.bostonpizza.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Boston Pizza, FAQ

Canada

“Please note that ingredients may vary by location.”

43 questions at /en/faq.html and 47 at /en/frequently-asked-questions.html, every answer read on 1 October 2026; no halal, kosher, pork, alcohol, enzyme or certification wording. Allergy questions are directed to the local restaurant. The FAQ also notes the chain's United States and Mexico restaurants trade as Boston's Pizza; their allergen guides are not Canada and were not read.

bostonpizza.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Boston Pizza, pizza menu

Canada

24 pizzas, every description read on 1 October 2026: smoked ham on the Italian Deli, Hawaiian, Great White North and The Meateor; bacon on the Carbonara, Spicy Perogy, Tropical Chicken and Whisky BBQ Chicken; smoked prosciutto on the Royal Hawaiian; Vodka sauce on the Pepperoni Stinger; J.P. Wiser's Whisky BBQ sauce; Montréal Dunn's smoked meat. The species of pepperoni and spicy Italian sausage is not stated.

bostonpizza.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Boston Pizza, nutrition page

Canada

Read on 1 October 2026: items include Slow-Roasted Pork Back Ribs, Maple Bacon Burger, Add Bacon and Montréal Smoked Meat Poutine; no halal, kosher or alcohol wording and no allergen or ingredient document linked. The FAQ says the nutritional guide is updated periodically; no dated document was found.

bostonpizza.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Halal Monitoring Authority (HMA) Canada

Canada

HMA's certified-restaurant register, 82 entries on a page dated 19 September 2026, read in a rendered browser on 1 October 2026, names no Boston Pizza; HMA's supplier list and Halal Check list name none either. ISNA Halal's restaurant listings (34 entries) were read the same day with the same result.

hmacanada.org ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

SkipTheDishes, Boston Pizza, 1070 Wilson St W (Ancaster)

Canada, delivery platform copy

“Signature pizza sauce, pepperoni, smoked ham, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, pizza mozzarella, Italian spices, and a creamy Alfredo drizzle.”

The Italian Deli Pizza on the Ancaster restaurant's delivery menu, read on 1 October 2026, beside the Maple Bacon Burger and the Royal Hawaiian (smoked prosciutto, bacon); the word halal does not appear. The same address as the Halal Feast event. The Square One (35 Square One Dr) menu on the same platform, read the same day, lists smoky bacon and smoked ham with no halal word. The platform's copy of the menu, not a statement by the chain.

skipthedishes.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

HalalRun, Boston Pizza, 1565 Upper James St, Hamilton

Canada, directory listing

“Halal Overview: Some meat is halal”

One of ten open Boston Pizza listings on the directory, read on 1 October 2026: “Halal Confirmation Source: Staff has confirmed”, “Halal certificate not present”, “Chicken is halal”, “Alcohol served”. The other nine (Vaughan, Barrhaven, Markham, Niagara Falls, Simcoe, Scarborough, Whitby, Mississauga Square One, Edmonton) read the same day carry the same status on staff confirmation or signage. Listings, not certificates; undated.

halalrun.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

a bengali in TO (blog), “Boston Pizza Now Halal”, 27 September 2010

Canada, diner report

“When I asked about the halal options, I was told I can order any of the chicken items, except ones that are breaded.”

A Toronto diner's post, read on 1 October 2026, reporting that GTA Boston Pizza locations had begun serving halal chicken on a server's word, with no certifier, sign or location named. A diner's report; it dates the per-location practice to at least 2010.

mezba.blogspot.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

Boston Pizza, Brampton location page

Canada

“NFL Season Kickoff Tailgate”

The chain's page for 2458 Queen Street East, Brampton, read on 1 October 2026 on the same template as Ancaster's: a family restaurant and sports bar with a football event and no halal wording. The Mississauga Road, Scarborough Town Centre and Crowfoot (Calgary) pages, read the same day, likewise carry no halal event or wording.

bostonpizza.com ↗ · retrieved 2026-10-01

How we checked Boston Pizza

On 1 October 2026 we read CBC Marketplace's 18 October 2024 report in full in its Yahoo News Canada republication, which reproduces CBC's byline and text, for the chain's emailed statements and the findings at the Boston Pizza locations visited. On bostonpizza.com we read the FAQ at both addresses (43 and 47 questions, every answer), the menu landing page and the pizza menu (24 pizzas), both nutrition pages, the locator, the Ancaster, Mississauga Road, Brampton, Scarborough Town Centre and Crowfoot location pages and the privacy policy, and the sitemap index and English sitemap; on events.bostonpizza.com we read the Ancaster Halal Feast event page, captured for the pictures on this page; the events site lists events per location rather than in one index.

We read the SkipTheDishes menus for the Ancaster (1070 Wilson St W) and Square One (35 Square One Dr) restaurants, HalalRun's ten open Boston Pizza listings, the Zabihah and The Halal Food searches, and the Toronto blog post of 27 September 2010. We read the Halal Monitoring Authority's certified-restaurant register (82 entries) and ISNA Halal's restaurant listings (34 entries) in a rendered browser, and HMA's supplier and Halal Check lists; Boston Pizza appears on none.

Other menu categories, the French site, the remaining location pages, Uber Eats and DoorDash listings, the chain's social accounts and the short diner videos indexed for Mississauga were not opened, and no 2025 or 2026 news search was possible this run.

What we could not check: The chain's per-location policy rests on an email summarised by CBC in 2024 and read in a republication; the chain has not published it or named a certifier. The only current location-level claim on the chain's own site is one franchise's 2026 event listing; the ten directory listings are undated and rest on staff's word or signage, and the 2010 blog is one diner's account. CBC's expired-certificate and supplier-certificate findings are historical. We publish no location count, have not called any restaurant and have seen no certificate ourselves.

Research and review: Researched by Halal Food Pass editorial on 7 September and 1 October 2026. Reviewed by Shaz Khan, publisher.

Change log:

  • : First published as varies by location: the Ancaster Halal Feast event page and the corporate privacy policy read; CBC Marketplace's October 2024 report read in two agreeing republications; the CBC original and the company email could not be read, recorded as failed reads.
  • : CBC Marketplace's report read first-hand in the Yahoo News Canada republication of CBC's full text, with the chain's emailed statements (online training, certificates accessible to locations that choose halal) and the expired-certificate finding quoted verbatim; the corporate FAQ read in full at both addresses, the pizza menu and nutrition pages (ham, bacon, prosciutto, pork ribs, vodka and whisky sauces), the locator, sitemap and the Ancaster location page on bostonpizza.com itself read; HMA and ISNA Halal registers read in a rendered browser, CHFCA could not be read. Label unchanged; claim table and sections added. Review cadence set to 30 days.
  • : Rewritten so the per-location policy is shown with what exists on the ground: the Ancaster Halal Feast listing on the chain's own events site, now the page's pictures, beside the same restaurant's delivery menu with ham, bacon and prosciutto unlabelled; HalalRun's ten franchises, all “Some meat is halal” on staff's word or signage with no certificate recorded; four silent chain location pages; the Square One delivery menu; and a 2010 diner report dating the practice. Earlier access notes removed. Label and verdict unchanged.

Next review: . Report a correction.

How to read our halal labels

We report what a chain, a named certifier or a specific restaurant says, with the scope of that statement. Halal Food Pass does not certify halal.

A statement about chicken does not automatically cover the whole menu. A supplier certificate does not establish restaurant certification. A lack of published certification does not tell us how animals were slaughtered.

When a chain states publicly that its food is halal, we report that statement as the chain's own word, with its date, its scope and the certifier it names, and we treat it as standing until the chain withdraws it or evidence contradicts it. A claim that rests on unnamed phone calls or an anonymous post is reported as a claim, not as a finding.

Read our halal information policy or learn how to check a restaurant’s halal information.